Early Years Curriculum

Early Years Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old.

We understand that every child is unique and we use the EYFS framework to take every child’s unique qualities into account when planning their day.

Within the learning and development section of the EYFS there are seven areas of learning and development which we use to shape the educational programmes in our nursery.

The three prime areas reflect the key skills and capacities that all children need to develop and learn effectively. These three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

For our youngest children we focus strongly on the three prime areas, which are the basis for successful learning in the other four specific areas.

The three prime areas are:

Communication and Language

Communication and Language development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.


Physical development involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

Personal, Social and Emotional

Personal, Social and Emotional development involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.

As children grow in confidence and ability within the three prime areas, we expand the learning program to equally focus on all prime and specific areas of learning.

The Specific areas are:


Literacy development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their interest.


Mathematics development involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces, and measure.

Understanding the World

Understanding the World development involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.

Expressive Arts and Design

Expressive Arts and Design development involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.

Each area of learning and development must be implemented through planned and purposeful play with a mixture of adult-led and child-initiated activity.

Play is essential for children’s development to build their confidence as they learn to explore the world around them. Children learn through leading their own play, and also by engaging, in play which is guided by adults.

If you would like to know more information about the EYFS, visit the Foundation Years website.